Hi all,

Just wanted to let you know that my annual “Revising Fiction” has been scheduled to begin on March 16, and is now open for registration.

For those not familiar with it, this intensive online workshop is for writers with a completed draft of a novel (or a body of short stories) to bring their fiction to the next level. Whether it’s a first draft or a 10th, participants’ books will undergo a process that will result in much stronger manuscripts, along with tools they can apply to everything they write in the future. The workshop requires a significant investment of time-- typically 10 to 16 hours a week over 14 weeks—but that includes time spent editing your own work. I'm proud to say that my writing workshops are among the very few recommended by Absolute Write.

This workshop grew out of frustrations that arose when I was a literary agent for 14 years. During that time, I had to turn down many potentially publishable books that fell just a draft or two short. Often they came from talented writers whose execution doesn’t quite measure up to their talent. But they weren’t salable as written, and like most agents, I didn’t have time to teach aspiring writers how to finish their work. Now more than ever, writers are expected to learn the craft on their own dime. And that definitely includes self-editing, an essential part of the writing process, and the one most often neglected. Revision is not just a matter of chipping away excess bits or changing a word here and there, but also building up, shifting emphasis, adding or omitting characters and subplots, clarifying and enhancing theme.