• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

Doce Blant Publishing / Marie M. Irvine Literary Excellence Award

elysezane

Registered
Reaction score
Does anyone have any knowledge of / experiences with Doce Blant Publishing and their Marie M. Irvine Literary Excellence Award?

Here's the site: http://www.doceblant.com/marie-m-irvine-literary-excellence-award/

I write historical fiction, so I was thinking of entering the contest, but I can't afford to throw $$ away.

I notice there are two typos on the award page, which gives me pause. Also, should contests announce their judges' names?

Under Author's Resources, they seem to be drumming up business for marketers, cover designers, etc. whom their authors would have to pay?

I'm new to this business, so I would appreciate any insights/instincts you can pass along. Thank you!

Thedrellum

Grr. Argh.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.patreon.com
I've never heard of this company, and from their website it doesn't seem like they offer much of anything to the author that the author couldn't do themselves. And while I'm not against fee-charging contests in general--many literary presses and poetry presses charge from $15 to $25 for an entry--such contests usually offer, at the very least, a monetary reward (usually $1000). What it looks like here is that Doce Blant Publishing is helping to fund their publishing house with the money from the entries rather than using that money as an award/to publish the winning book.

Also, with those fee-charging contests I'm okay with, the presses have credibility within the literary publishing world, so even if they DIDN'T have an award, the fact that your book was published by them would mean something. I'm not sure what DBP provides their authors, especially since they say marketing is the burden of the author.

foxfeet

Registered
Reaction score
A cave under a rock at the bottom of the ocean