Best Book for Learning? [Playwriting]

Taylor Harbin

Power to the pen!
Registered
Reaction score
I grew up acting in the local town theatre and loved it. With the publication of the latest HP story and reflection on John Stienbeck (who wrote several plays), I've been thinking of trying my hand at a script or two. Does anyone have book suggestions for learning how to write one, especially for someone who isn't used to\has very little experience with the form?

zmethos

from words to worlds
Registered
Reaction score
Website
mpepperlanglinais.com
Hi Taylor! I have a screenwriting degree, and the thing they tell us when learning is to read screenplays. You'll pick up the sense of form, etc. from there. Of course there are tons of screenwriting books, too, but you'll learn more from just reading scripts themselves. Plenty of places to read them online if you Google. The key will be to know when you're reading a shooting script versus what the actual screenwriter wrote--when writing a script you don't include direction/camera angles unless it's somehow key to the story (that is, you need a close-up of a phone or something like that).

That said, my favorite books are the ones by William Goldman, if only because I find them highly entertaining. There's also a book called The Screenwriter's Bible that many rely on, and then the whole fight over whether Save The Cat is useful or actually killing creativity. Robert McKee's book is also fairly well known in the industry.

MaeZe

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I found there was no one book that works for everyone. So I went to the library and checked out all the how to write books on the shelf and went home to go through them, then keeping only one or two checked out at a time.

I ended up buying, Wired for Story, as one of the best for me. How Not to Write a Novel is good, but better as a source after you have a handle on the basics.