An historian's opinion of Fantasy timeline tropes

Galumph_Triumph

Registered
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm a horror author and just beginning my very first fantasy novel. I've been reading all about common mistakes new fantasy authors make, which tropes and cliches to avoid, etc. One of them I keep reading about is, "Do not have a culture that has existed for thousands of years and made zero technological progress."
Lord of the Rings is one of these examples; "...For four and a half thousand years, nobody invented democracy, the steam engine, or the telescope." Etc.

I'm a graduate student of History doing a PhD in California, and I just wanted to add my two cents:

The technological progress narrative of history is kind of, a little bit, Eurocentric. We know about civilizations in North and South America and Africa that did not make any of the "progress" the Europeans/Asians/Near Easterners did. They never invented steel, experimented with electricity, developed extensive sewage systems, etc. If you compare the Mound Builders of what is now the US to, for example, the Romans, the distribution of technological invention/ingenuity is pretty lopsided. And the Europeans used this as a mark of Indigenous incivility/subhuman status when they met them.

But civilizations in the Americas and Africa actually did make a lot of 'progress', just in different ways. They tinkered with irrigation systems, attempted to map the night sky, and had pretty thorough understandings of lunar and solar cycles. They experimented with different forms of government and even had really complex traditions that kind of resembled modern academic disciplines - how history is remembered, how politics should work, etc.

So, what I'm saying is, I think it's actually fine if your fantasy world has existed for 40,000 years and they're still mulling around digging poop holes and using bow and arrows. It's not unrealistic. It's just not European.

RetsReds

Registered
Reaction score