Food that looks difficult to make but isn't.

ErezMA

Registered
Reaction score
Hey, all!

So I have a day coming up where I get out of work early and my fiancee will be at work for another four hours after I am, and I thought I'd be romantic. I'm not much of a TV watcher, but she's recently got me hooked on Cutthroat Kitchen and I thought I'd be cute by taking one of her stuffed teddies and having her walk home with both of us next to a dish (obviously both cooked by me) and I wanted to impress her with a nice dish.

Problem is that I'm not much of a cook. It's not that I'm infamous for what I cook up, but more of I have little experience. Before I moved out with my fiancee, most of my food has been takeout. (Yes, I know. Bad and unhealthy.)

So, all you connoisseurs, what dishes can I make that would have her take a look at it and say, "I can't believe you did this!" without my success rate being closer to the single digits than the triple. Don't worry too much about tastes. I have a picky palette, but she doesn't. The only thing is that recently, she hasn't been a big fan of chicken. So meat, seafood, vegetarian, etc.

(Also - as a subtopic, we've recently moved in and we don't have such an extensive collection of spices. We have salt, pepper, Italian, herbs&garlic, and garlic powder. I like adobo, and oregano and I want to get that, but I'm expecting one of you telling me, "You NEED this!")

With love and thanks,
ErezMA! :D

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Mr. Maryn's impress-me meal is astonishingly simple. It's seared ahi or yellowfin tuna, roasted new potatoes, and a salad out of a bag, with added cherry tomatoes, cucumber, whatever to fancy it up.

To sear the tuna, a non-stick skillet helps, but it's not required.

PAN-SEARED AHI

Heat 1 Tablespoon olive oil in pan on MEDIUM-HIGH, until oil faintly smokes. (If oil smokes too much, pan is too hot, causing seafood to burn on outside and stay raw on inside.)