Scottish?

Carrie Lyn

Registered
Reaction score
Hello! Total newbie here so really hoping that Im doing this post right and not breaking the rules. I looked at the master language set but didnt see anything specific for Scotland.

I am in desperate need of someone in Scotland that I can speak with for research with terms, slang and just general outlook on certain things. One of my main characters is Scottish, written in 1st POV, and I keep running into potholes in my story because Im not sure how they would refer to something i.e. a parking space, or if they have the same thing in pubs there as we do in bars here, like a pool table or a dartboard. plus a ton of other questions.

I would love to say that I have a list of questions I could send and that would be that but its not the case because a lot of it I just sort of run into while writing. If there is any Scottish people out there that would be willing to help me please let me know!! I could use it!

dpaterso

Also in our Discord and IRC chat channels
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
derekpaterson.net
Och aye to all of the above!

Welcome to the board!

-Derek

oceansoul

Registered
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm not actually Scottish, but I live in Edinburgh and have done for several years. If I can help at all, let me know!

Calder

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.thejanusgate.com
I think the biggest difficulty you'll face is in actually getting the sounds of the speech, while not making it too much like hard work for the reader.
E.g. "ge' ower yersel'" is Glaswegian for "Get over yourself," but takes some time to mentally translate and could ruin the flow of your writing and/or put readers off.