How soon after you draw blood from someone will it spoil?

Plot Device

A woman said to write like a man.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
sandwichboardroom.blogspot.com
A forensic assistant needs to draw blood from a living man to test it for drugs. He lets her. She then sticks the vial in her purse so she can bring it back to her lab for analysis.

How long before it spoils?

I'm assuming room temperature. And it's September in New York (not the deserts of the Sahara).

T Robinson

Born long ago, in a different era
Registered
Reaction score
Define "spoil"? I have heard they can obtain DNA from bones. I would think as long as it was sealed tight, whatever was in there would be there.

Probably need to tell our medical experts what drug you need to be involved. I think some may deteriorate quicker than others.<But I have no medical knowledge.>

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
A forensic assistant needs to draw blood from a living man to test it for drugs. He lets her. She then sticks the vial in her purse so she can bring it back to her lab for analysis. She's then fired for mishandling evidence and being a big 'ol dingdong. :)

How long before it spoils?

I'm assuming room temperature. And it's September in New York (not the deserts of the Sahara).

That's just not how it'd work, so I don't think 'spoilage' is your issue. I also think the accuracy is what your issue would be and that'd largely depend on what you're testing for, afaik.

Plot Device

Registered
Reaction score
Website