Status
Not open for further replies.

ZachJPayne

Beware: #amQuerying
Registered
Reaction score
Website
zachjpayne.com
I told myself that I was going to work on my novel.

I told myself that I was done with scratchy, periodic attempts at writing, where I'd sit down once every few months and binge write 7,000 words in 2 days, and end up deleting them all, because they sucked.

I spent years listening to Mighty Mur Lafferty talk about how I should be writing, and how important it was to put my ass in the chair and just start writing. I heard the old adage that if you wrote 250 words every single day, you'd have a novel in a year.

So that became my goal. And August 1, 2013 was day 1.

Because I am slightly disconnected with time itself right now, it took me a few days to realize that August 1, 2014 had rolled past. I have been a dedicated writer, really worthy of that writer's title, for one year.

I've done a lot this year. I moved from SoCal, where I was born and raised, to Northern Nevada. I've completely restructured my life, I've lost about 100 pounds. . .

And I've written 190,896 words. I finished the rough draft of my novel, and I've written one hell of a query letter ;). Even if I'm not published, not professional, I am a writer, and the entire point of this pretentious-ass post is to celebrate that.

:D

Kylabelle

unaccounted for
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Yay, Zach!

You are awesome and that is one hell of an accomplishment! Good for you!

And I do expect that as you continue, you'll find yourself published, professional, and maybe even making money! :D:D:D

This is definitely a solid start. Hats off.

J.S.F.

Red fish, blue fish...
Registered
Reaction score
Oh good, a Zach Payne thread, which means I can castigate and abjure you all I like!

:D