Nine worries this new playwright has

is_shawty_there

Registered
Reaction score
Hi, my name is Zev. It's Hebrew for 'wolf' and pronounced kind of like the middle of 'forever.' I am given to long blog posts when I am nervous. As I am terrified but trying to simplify things, I have sorted everything into numbers. They are in no order of importance.

1. I am in the second rewrite of my first draft of my first play. The original quite did not work out. Now, with this new approach, I am cruising along and quite grateful. Also, I have a fragile ego and little self-confidence despite believing so strongly in my content. This is not for validation, merely an observation. I worry that no one will critique my script or produce it, but I am of the firm belief that it will be performed.

2. I have nine years' experience as an actor, mostly youth theater musicals but one year of college plays that were straight shows. I told my professors and some of the youth theater staff when I began writing the play, and they were very supportive. The second rewrite is not as over-the-top drama. It is more realistic and as a result, waaaay darker.

3. The youth theater offered to critique the original when I finished (which I did not). They offered to produce it and have it performed there until I quietly explained that the only youth in the play is a sixteen-year-old pregnant with twins, and she has prior experience with pregnancies. There's swearing, sex, suicide and all the principal characters are in a twelve-step group. One is an alcoholic cop (lieutenant) who is burning out. Another hates her brother's wife so much that she wishes for her death and says terrible things. This is not kid-friendly at all, and I feel sad that the theater was originally so excited. I politely discouraged them. They tried not to be sad. I have always liked them a lot.