Do you share your novels with your significant other?

Dark Princess

Registered
Reaction score
I did a quick search for this and didn't find anything. I hope this isn't rehashing an old conversation or in the wrong place.

I've been writing novels for a few years and it was one of the first things my boyfriend learned about me. We've known each other for a few years and every once in awhile he'll ask me if he can read some of my work, especially if I tell him about a milestone or simply that I'm in a good mood because I wrote 2k words that day.

I always make up excuses for not really sharing anything with him. I'm afraid that he's biased (which I'm sure he is), and that his opinion -- whether good or bad -- will color my perception of him and our relationship. But I'm also reminded of something Stephen King said in On Writing where he stated that his wife is his Ideal Reader and that she's always the first person to read his work. I still have mixed feelings about it.

So do you share your work -- in any stage -- with your significant other? Why, or why not?

Jazen

Registered
Reaction score
My hubby knows I'm working on my first book, but hasn't read it. He's heard me talk about it, and will ask me questions, but he's not a big reader plus it's a romance of sorts therefore not really his cup of tea. I guess if he really wanted to read it, I'd let him.

Anna Spargo-Ryan

Just pokin' about
Registered
Reaction score
Website
blog.annaspargoryan.com
Yes. I read a lot of my work in progress aloud to my boyfriend. He's definitely not a writer, and not even really a reader, so he mostly blinks and says something like, "I don't know what good writing is, but I bet it's something like that." His primary function is to act as a sounding board so that I can hear where the writing is bad. Bless him.

I do think you're right to worry about bias, because it is so hard to give constructive feedback to someone you love.