Questions on commissions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hapax Legomenon

Registered
Reaction score
Like a good number of you guys I'm both a writer and a visual artist, and I have some possibly stupid questions. I might want to make my own cover but I don't know how to do all the bits like computer image editing to make it look good. Are there people who would be able to create covers if I sent the image?

Also, say I wanted a cover made but in a medium I'm not good at, but I still know things I want like colors and composition. Would it be okay to send thumbnail sketches and refs to the artist?

Do you guys have any estimate on a fair price for either of these services? For the latter I would have a preference for minimalist covers that are either traditionally or digitally painted as opposed to the photo edits I've seen on most self-pubbed (and a lot of traditionally-pubbed) ebooks lately. I don't know how much that would affect the price of such a comission.

CetiAlphaVI

Registered
Reaction score
Also, say I wanted a cover made but in a medium I'm not good at, but I still know things I want like colors and composition. Would it be okay to send thumbnail sketches and refs to the artist?

I would think that this would be acceptable. I am a fairly new graphic designer, and one of the hardest parts of that job is getting the same feeling/vibe/idea from the clients head to mine.(provided you are working with a client that realizes what they want) If you are good enough to provide even rudimentary thumbnail sketches and references to the artist then you are bypassing a lot of the hard mind to mind translation work. If the artist wants more control than that or simply doesn't like your ideas, then shop around a little more. If you have artistic vision, then you should be able to find someone that will work with you.