The Time Between an Offer and Finishing the Deal

summontherats

Generally More of a Lurker
Registered
Reaction score
Website
fairieszombiesandqueries.wordpress.com
I recently started submitting short genre pieces, and I just got an acceptance at a nice semi-pro place. But this is my first time getting accepted anywhere, so I have a question.

They sent the contract and said they'd sign it after I emailed it back. So I did. I've heard nothing since--no contract, no acknowledgement that I sent it, nothing. It's been a week.

What should I expect? How long does this usually take? And at what point would you guys check in?

I know every place is different, and I know all these folks are busy. I just don't know when it'd be appropriate to say, "Hi, I'm just checking in and making sure my email wasn't eaten by the spam filter. Is there anything else you need from me?"

Last edited:

Aggy B.

Not as sweet as you think
Registered
Reaction score
Are they using an electronic signature service (like Adobe EchoSign)? Those let you know when the contract's been signed because you get a copy back via email.

If it was some other format (either electronic that you type in a "signature" or a version to print out and mail/email back) then obviously they'll not only have to sign it, but return a copy to you.

Personally, I would think one week is not a matter of concern. If a few more weeks go by, email and just say "I want to make sure you received my signed contract."

Some pubs are very slow about stuff, but what you should be concerned about is whether they received your material, and then be patient about getting it back from them.

Aggy, waiting on edits that should have been here two days ago at the latest

summontherats

Registered
Reaction score
Website