Any carpentry/home improvement/DIY types?

StephanieZie

Trust me, I'm a doctor
Registered
Reaction score
Hey fellow AWers! I don't usually venture to this area, but I just wanted to see if there was anyone who could offer me any advice.

We're about to start refinishing the hardwood floors in our house and as much as I've tried to read up and educate myself, I'm pretty nervous because I've never done anything like this before. We've already ripped up all the carpet and took out the nails and such. We're renting the sander from Home Depot on monday.

I know this board is more for crafters, so I'm just throwing this out there in case anyone might be able to help, you don't have to be a professional or anything, but maybe someone will have some experience doing this sort of thing. I'll take any advice I can get. If you think you could help, let me know and I'll put up more details.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I haven't done this, but a friend refinished the dining and living room areas adjacent to the kitchen. One thing she told me stuck. No matter how careful you are, how you close off rooms and seal cupboards, the dust from the sanding is going to get into everything. She said in hindsight it would have been easier to empty the kitchen cupboards and put everything upstairs or in the basement than to wash or wipe it all.

That was probably an exaggeration, but it would probably be wise to really seal the room, with thick plastic sheeting taped across doorways and over vents on all four sides, redone every time you leave the room.

I assume you plan to use masks and eye protection?