• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Pet Peeves as a reader

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephanieZie

Trust me, I'm a doctor
Registered
Reaction score
I was reading the book closers thread, and that got me thinking about reader pet peeves. What sorts of things make you (as a reader) roll your eyes? Not necessarily things that will make you put a book down, just things you find annoying, cliched or trite?

I'll start with my biggest one:
"I was riding my horse. Well technically it wasn't a horse, it was a flame-throwing dragon. He was drawing admiring glances from the villagers. Well, he wasn't so much drawing admiring glances as he was inspiring panic and terror."

These kinds of constructions, where the author states one thing then slightly modifies it (well, it's not so much slightly modifying as it is completely contradicting) in the next sentences, annoy me to no end. I know sometimes it's meant to be witty, or something, but it feels half-assed to me, like the author wrote in a stream-of-consciousness with no direction but then didn't take the time in hindsight to do any editing or tighten up the focus.

shadowwalker

empty-nester!
Registered
Reaction score
My biggest annoyance is unnecessary romance/sex between characters. I read a murder mystery last year and the story would have been a real twister - if the two MCs hadn't been immediately (as in within a day) drawn into a romance and then made out like rabbits - even when they should've been running after the latest clue! I don't know, maybe the author and her publisher thought the sex would make it sell better, but I have no intention of buying the sequel, or any other book she writes.

chompers

Registered
Reaction score