• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

Skyhorse Publishing

twm

Zizban
Sockpuppet
Banned
Reaction score
They are well regarded and have put out several bestselling novels. They are open to unsolicited submissions. Good luck!

kaitie

With great power comes
Registered
Reaction score
Looks like they do mostly non-fiction.

Undercover

I got it covered
Registered
Reaction score
Yeah, but they have other imprints including Sky Pony for children's books which I thought was interesting.

FoamyRules

Hamtaro Rules
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.thetigerseye.valentchamber.com
Well their About Us page over on the Skyhorse tab does give the name of the person who started it and lists his experience in publishing from what I see. I give them an A on their website, it seems to be directed towards readers from what I can tell. But I'm not an expert on publishing, someone who has more experience can give you more insight.

LillyPu

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
A friend of mine has a recent release with Skyhorse--a memoir--and is enjoying their marketing efforts on his behalf. Sales are good.

kellion92

A cat may not look at a king
Registered
Reaction score
I know someone who has a picture book coming out from Sky Pony. It's the new children's imprint for Skyhorse, which announced last summer, and the PB in question looks fun, commercial, and well illustrated.

Al Stevens

Registered
Reaction score
From their website's submissions page:

http://www.skyhorsepublishing.com/guidelines/

Unfortunately, due to the volume of queries, we will not be able to respond to everyone. However, you may request an immediate review (two business days) for a $100 rush fee payable in advance by check.

I haven't seen that before. Is this a common practice?

kellion92

A cat may not look at a king
Registered
Reaction score