Meat from a food animal with cancer: potentially gross thread

evilrooster

Wicked chicken
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.sunpig.com
I'm partway through a short story where a food animal (what it is is complicated and irrelevant to the story) gets cancer. When it does, the subsistence herders who live with it butcher it for what's usable: its bones, its hide, its sinews, etc.

Two questions:

• What would the meat with tumors look like? I've seen gross-out photos of oozing yuck from the oh-barf-come-be-veggie sites. Are all tumors like that, or are some hard, or undifferentiated solid cells, or something else?
  • Assuming the tumors aren't squidgy and gross, and given that these people are living with very thin margins of survival, would they consider eating the meat? Either the stuff that didn't have visible tumors, or any inoffensive masses themselves?

Thanks for any information anyone can supply.

King Neptune

Banned
Reaction score
I am not an expert in this field, but I have been told that cancerous chickens are common, and they are include in the food supply. I don't know about cattle, but most cattle are slaughtered before they have lived long enough for cancers to grow much.

Most cancers are specific to a species; they are genetic diseases, so they can't spread from species to species.

Australia, at least, allows cancerous cattle to be slaughtered.
http://www.dpi.vic.gov.au/agricultu...iseases/beef-and-dairy-cows/livestock-cancers

If you look around, then you should be able to find statements from the departments that regulate the food supplies of several countries.

Fenika

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Well, first you have to understand that if you eat meat in the US, you've already had meat where the *animals* had tumors. Either in certain organs (the skin being a major organ), or in the meat itself, though this is generally rare.