Status
Not open for further replies.

theorange

Rebellious philosopher
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.siftingtothetruth.com
Just thought this might be a morale boost to those of us who have been rejected a lot, particularly by prestigious magazines and journals, and wondered what the hell it would take to get an acceptance.

The New Yorker Rejects Itself: A Quasi-Scientific Analysis of Slush Piles:

"...After a few glasses of two-buck Chuck I was ready to test my hypothesis. I grabbed a New Yorker story off the web (no, it wasn't by Alice Munro or William Trevor), copied it into a Word document, changed only the title, created a fictitious author identity, and submitted it to a slew of literary journals, all of whom regularly grace the TOC of Best American Short Stories, Pushcart Prize, O’Henry, etcetera and etcetera. My cover letter simply stated that I am an unpublished writer deeply appreciative of their consideration.

That was it. I sowed the seed, and waited.

As for the result, please sit down and place your Starbucks Venti on a secure surface..."

Williebee

Capeless, wingless, & yet I fly.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.ifoundaknife.com
FWIW, Mr. Cameron seems to ignore the possibility that the recipient recognized it for the plagiarism that it was but just didn't want to get into a back and forth over it. (Not a good course of action from the recipient, in my book, but still possible.)

Add to that the multiple other legitimate reasons to reject a story that weren't considered (timing, context, needs for specific content outweighing the content of the stack in front of the slushkiller...) and this becomes, mostly, a snarky "up yours" to the New Yorker.

ETA: The process is hard enough. Rejection is disheartening enough. Shouting "screw you" in public expends energy and redirects bile your mind and body could be using for better things.

Last edited:

theorange

Rebellious philosopher
Registered
Reaction score
Website