Smells

Flutterlight

Registered
Reaction score
I have no sense of smell, but I realize that the vast majority of people can smell and smell is a large part of people's everyday lives. So my WIP's main character can smell things, and generally I can make up scent descriptions based on things I've read.

But I'm working on a scene that involves a four hour old corpse in a large trashcan behind a school. Is it safe to assume that the smell of school garbage would overpower the smell of the corpse? Or would a normal person be able to tell that something was wrong prior to digging through the trash?

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Usually at a school or business there would be a dumpster rather than trash cans, I think.

I'm no expert, but I would guess that the smell from a four-hour corpse wouldn't be too bad unless it was a hot day (significant decomposition wouldn't begin until some time later). The smell from a dumpster is pretty bad anyway when the lids are open. With the dumpster lids closed no one would probably notice the smell of a fresh corpse during that time period.

In any event, I think you would be safe to use the fact that the corpse wasn't discovered by smell alone.

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
What happened to the corpse, what's the temperature outside, what's in the dumpster/trash? Where are we?

Generally, here, school trash (I live quite near a school) doesn't smell like anything, because they put it out the day it's to be picked up, like everyone else. If it's some area with a dumpster that holds trash for a week or whatever, yeah, probably smell more but trash is generally bagged and tied up.

Also, in general, a four-hour-old corpse isn't likely to smell like much of anything, unless it's feces and urine.