The year 2050

Mark Moore

Banned
Reaction score
In a series that I've been developing for a few years now (but have only recently started writing any of), I've created a fictional metropolis in a fictional nation and set it in the year 2050. It's a cyberpunk police drama. Though setting it in a nation of my own creation will help me to avoid some obvious forecasting problems, the rest of the world will, of course, be discussed at various points, and what happens "out there" will affect my characters to some degree.

Is there any go-to place where I can find forecasting information regarding technology, oil depletion (and how it might affect the world at large), music, whether television will still be around or not, weather/climate, the use of print media, population, racial and religious demographics, etc.?

Basically, I want to avoid anything that will turn out to be laughably antiquated as we slowly approach 2050. Remember the first episode of "Star Trek", where the Enterprise received a fax on a print-out? The use of "tapes" for data storage? Picard's bulky laptop on TNG? A truck driver filling up on gas in "Bubblegum Crisis" (set in 2032-2033)? Computers that use floppy disks in "Bubblegum Crisis: Tokyo 2040"? Yeah, I want to avoid stuff like that.

I can make only a few simple predictions myself:

The oldest person in the world will likely have been born in 1934.

The Nirvana generation will be in their late 60s / early 70s (imagine "Smells Like Teen Spirit" and "Rape Me" being played in nursing homes) while the residents watch "Beavis and Butt-head".

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score