• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

I think my writing is improving

Status
Not open for further replies.

celticroots

Registered
Reaction score
Like the title says, I think my writing has improved greatly compared to when I first started (at age 13.) I've been writing for 11 years now and am happier with my writing, (sometimes) although I am aware that I still have much to learn. There can be times when I read a passage and think it sucks, but I guess that's true of everyone. But writing/reading a lot has contributed.

Is it arrogant to think that way?

rwm4768

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
There's nothing wrong with thinking that way. Frankly, if you don't think your writing is improving, something is wrong. Every day you write, your writing should be better than the day before. Every book you read should improve your writing. It's not at all arrogant to think you're getting better; it's realistic.

Personally, I know my writing has improved. I read through some of my old stuff and cringe. There are needlessly complicated sentences and phrase constructions, stilted dialogue, head-hopping like crazy, and many other problems. If I were still writing at the same level I was at even two years ago, I'd be concerned that I'll never make it. But I know I'm improving every day, every time I write.

Kerosene

Your Pixie Queen
Registered
Reaction score
Frankly, if you don't think your writing is improving, something is wrong.

I agree.

I think there might be a problem when a writer doesn't see improvement, or doesn't believe they will improve.

It's good that you're seeing it, either intentional or not.

LJD

Registered
Reaction score
Nope.

I've definitely improved, too. :)

Tepelus

And so...
Registered
Reaction score
Website
keskedgell.blogspot.com