defense attorney/police officer/psychiatrist-US

wsmeg

Registered
Reaction score
I have no knowledge of the intricacies of the judicial system (US). I Would appreciate the help if anyone has answers.

A sixteen-year-old, diagnosed with schizophrenia is voluntarily committed to a psychiatric facility by his parents. While there, he is accused of murdering another patient.

1- Do the police have to notify his parents before questioning him? Would they question him there or take him to the police station. He would only have a lawyer present after he was charged and read miranda rights, but not during questioning — is this correct?

2 - Once charged, would he go back to a psychiatric facility or jail while he awaits trial? I imagine they wouldn't mix teenagers with adults and wouldn't put a teenager who is violent criminal offender with other non-violent psychiatric teen patients.

It's intricate to the plot that at some point he is in the detective's office, preferably without an attorney or parent.

Any help is appreciated.

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
I have no knowledge of the intricacies of the judicial system (US). I Would appreciate the help if anyone has answers.

A sixteen-year-old, diagnosed with schizophrenia is voluntarily committed to a psychiatric facility by his parents. While there, he is accused of murdering another patient. Eh, not terribly probable, but I'll accept it. There's a limit to how long his parents can voluntarily commit him before he becomes eligible for a court hearing.