creating an e-book?

Status
Not open for further replies.

words

Registered
Reaction score
In the past, I have written e-books for clients who hired other people to actually turn the document into a book. Lately it seems more potential clients want me to deliver the full package. I tend to be pretty low-tech so don't know how to get started doing this.

What program(s) do I need? It is a relatively straightforward process or does it require some measure of graphics/layout/design talent?

I'm a complete novice in this area so would appreciate any advice.

brianjanuary

Registered
Reaction score
Most writers use Word, using correct formatting for Kindle, Pubit, etc. (for example, for Kindle, using Styles instead of the Enter key for paragraphs, page inserts at the ends of chapters, Space After and Space before for blank spaces, etc.). Do a search to look for formatting guides and study the requirements for each e-book publisher.

Then you need to upload this document through a program like Mobipocket Creator, Calibre, etc. to create a publishable file, check it in a previewer, correct the errors, and finally publish the book.

It may sound like a lot of work, but it's a process that's fairly easily learned.

Katie Elle

Banned
Reaction score
It can be as easy as simply saving a word file as html and running it through Calibre to convert it to a mobi (kindle) or epub (everyone else).

It can also be a nightmare of formatting and contradictory styles and broken links. It all depends on how complex the book is.

A simple short story is dead easy. Something with a table of contents can be a bit more difficult (you place bookmarks at the headings, then create a TOC and link them--or you rely on the converter program to do this)