Hello!

sejaii

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone! My name is Jaime. I'm so happy I found this forum, I know you will all be invaluable as I fall more seriously into writing.

I am a recent college graduate, currently writing a dystopian YA novel while I sit around being unemployed.

Since I've been lurking on a lot of the YA and SYW YA threads, I have come to realize my novel doesn't have a distinctively YA voice at all. It's more adult, I feel, and now I'm kind of depressed. I am going to be delusional while I finish it and pretend that it's unique but AWESOME, AND MUCH NEEDED in the YA world, rather than that it's just written all wrong for a YA audience. Probably I am just not in touch enough with teenagers, but whatever.

Anyway, I know the lines can be blurred, and that I could be writing an adult book with teen protagonists, and I'm not asking anyone to try to divine the genre of my book. I'm just complaining.

I'm excited to find someone via this forum who will be a writing friend/reader. None of my friends read YA books, and I feel like they won't be able to accurately judge how wrong (or right) my book is in comparison, when I go attempt to sell it.

So thanks for reading, and existing, and hi!

Flowerfairy

Lady Entropia
Registered
Reaction score
Hi and welcome. Don't be discouraged by what you've already seen. Just get interactive and write. Best of luck.

CatchingADragon

dragon seeker
Registered
Reaction score
Website
catchingadragon.com
Welcome from another new member! Best of luck with your novel! I probably wouldn't worry about the YA / adult issue until you're ready to start looking for an agent or publisher. I'm not sure how they make the distinction. In the meantime, just have as much fun as you can!

jvc

Fearsome Dragon Mod
Registered
Reaction score
Greetings and welcome back to the watercooler :welcome: