Reluctant page loading

tbrosz

Got the hang of it, here
Registered
Reaction score
I've noticed recently that this site has become very reluctant to load pages. I spend a lot of time looking at that little whirling circle in the tab. Sometimes it works, often it doesn't.

Is this a problem anyone else has been having, or is it on my end?

backslashbaby

~~~~*~~~~
Registered
Reaction score
I've had it, too, parts of some days. I use Firefox (13.0.1) on Win 7.

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
We're looking in to this problem.

For now you could try logging out, clearing your cookies and cache, and logging back in. It might, or might not, help.

Also, please note the exact time(s) you had the problem and post it in this thread.

Maryn

Sees All
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not technically adept by any means, but I can parrot what I've heard people suggest:

What to do when AW is running slowly or getting hung up, some pages timing out:

One option is to limit the amount of data the server has to deliver to your computer. Less data means greater speed. So unless you need to see images, you can limit data by clicking User CP and Edit Options, and turning off the images and avatars in Thread Display Options. This is just a temporary improvement, not a fix, but it can minimize frustration when pages aren't loading.

Many people find AW's responsiveness is worse on one browser than another. If you have more than one installed, try viewing AW with Firefox instead of Internet Explorer, or Chrome instead of Firefox... You get the idea.

The advertising AW needs for its revenue stream may slow display pages. They're served by Google, so we can't really do anything about this except give so generously AW no longer needs ads.