Anyone attended Oxford? Need advice! :)

RN Hill

Registered
Reaction score
Kansas -- the part with some decent driving roads.
My MC is an American student at Oxford. Before anyone asks, no, I have not attended (though I have been through the application process), and no I have not visited (though that is on next year's agenda, provided the money keeps coming in).

I have specific questions regarding the work load, the tutoring vs actual classroom lecture, life in college and the town itself. If anyone's been -- especially as an American -- I'd love to hear from you, if you don't mind a lot of questions! :)

backslashbaby

~~~~*~~~~
Registered
Reaction score
Oh, the experience will depend on the college, for sure, but yeah, I got a degree there (and took an extra year doing it, so I know even more about the city now ;) :D). This was in 2009. I'll rep you my e-mail addy.

Darcie

Sockpuppet
Banned
Reaction score
I haven't, but if you have any general university/college questions, feel free to message me.

Theo81

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.atrivialblogforseriouspeople.blogspot.com
I haven't, but if you have any general university/college questions, feel free to message me.

It's nice to be helpful, but the Oxbridge universities are unique and very different to a "normal" university. I went to University in the UK, but I can't tell you much about how they work etc etc. I know A A Gil reviewed the restaurant you take your parents to when they come to visit (at which pater pays) in the Sunday Times this week. It wasn't very good.
Also, College in the US - utterly different to the UK. There you do a degree in a subject, rather than the US method of credits (apart from Open University, but that doesn't count).

It better not to offer help on things unless you *can* help properly. Misinformation is worse than no information at all.

onesecondglance

pretending to be awake
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
soundcloud.com