Recommendations For Making a Web Page?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian Rush

Registered
Reaction score
All right, I want a web page. It doesn't have to be anything fancy and it doesn't have to change very often, just when I get new books up and/or reviews, promotions, etc. All I want is a page that will look nice and will constantly link my books at Amazon and at Smashwords, and to which I can drive traffic by writing & publishing elsewhere.

I'm a total newbie at this. I really have no idea what I'm doing. I do a Google search and find all kinds of build-your-web-page-free thingies and I don't know how to evaluate them or what I want to go with.

Does anyone have any recommendations? I also don't want to spend any money on this if I don't have to.

Thanks in advance. :)

MarkEsq

Clever title pending.
Registered
Reaction score
In the wilds of Texas. Actually, the liberal oasi
Brian,

I used Wix to build the site and GoDaddy to host the domain. It's not free but it's less than $50 a year total, I think.

I spent about four months on mine, tinkering here and there, getting people's opinions on what looked good and what didn't, and also checking out other author sites. I'm not an artist nor technically gifted, but with enough time and attention I think most people can build themselves a decent, professional looking site.

Brian Rush

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks, Mark. Wix was one of the sites I was considering. I'll check it out.

Deleted member 42

All right, I want a web page. It doesn't have to be anything fancy and it doesn't have to change very often, just when I get new books up and/or reviews, promotions, etc. All I want is a page that will look nice and will constantly link my books at Amazon and at Smashwords, and to which I can drive traffic by writing & publishing elsewhere.

Get a domain; base the domain name on your name-as-author.
Get an ISP. The ISP/host should not be the same as your domain register.