Philosophies of Choosing Markets

Sea Witch

Stirring the word cauldron
Registered
Reaction score
Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada
Tell me, how do you decide who to submit stories to?

Do you start with the most prestigious, difficult market and then after a rejection move down the list based on percentages accepted?

Do you stay on the same level and move horizontally?

Since I'm new to this, I'm always hesitating. Is this market too easy? Is this market too hard?

what's your philosophy?

thanks

Sai

Book lover/Spy
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.kuri-ousity.com
Last summer I got a really nice personal rejection from the editor at Asimov's, saying the writing was good and that she was looking forward to my next story (the idea was cliche though, hence the rejection). Because of that Asimov's is at the top of my submissions, for sci-fi stories at least. Sometimes when I get discouraged I tell myself "C'mon! They're waiting for your story at Asimov's!" (I like the think of the whole editorial team just lounging around, waiting for my next submission ;) ). It's also one of the top markets, and I believe in starting at the top and working my way down.

I do try to sub to places that I think are a good fit for the story, so for example I don't sub much to Analog because they like more hard sci-fi than what I write. And then there are magazines which I'm a big fan of but don't sub to, like Interzone and Fantasy and Science Fiction, because they only take postal subs (it's expensive mailing a long story to the States/the UK, plus buying an international reply coupon on top of that).

There are always exceptions, but basically I start at with the top markets that take electronic subs, usually starting with ones where I've had good responses in the past.

soapdish

writing
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
sealeyandrews.wordpress.com
*whips out spreadsheet*