"Low" vs. "High" fantasy in UF?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dbfitzgerald

Crime, Washington DC
Registered
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a fairly experienced writer who is brand new to the genre and am writing what I believe you might call Low fantasy UF--namely, it takes place in a modern city but there's one supernatural creature, or one that does not exist in the "real" world. The creature is basically a large human, about 9' tall, who in most respects is just like us, with a few slight differences in appearance. He comes from somewhere else (not quite sure where yet) and speaks another language, but otherwise has no fantastic powers other than size.

I want to write something that's very realistic, that would read like urban fiction in almost every respect, except for this impossible creature. There is no "magic," no vampires, werewolves, gods, etc. Just people, one of whom is clearly not human.

First, would you call this UF? The world is basically this one, with one known anomaly, this oversized creature. Perhaps we will get into where he came from and how he got here, but that's not what the story is about. It is about people relating to him and vice versa.

Second, do you know of any other novels with a similarly "low fantasy" aspect? I would like to read a few authors in the genre, especially those who may be close to the type of fiction I'm writing. Any insights would be much appreciated!

Max.Schultz

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an expert but for me his origins would determine if your story was UF or SF. If he came through a wormhole from another world or something like that than I would just call it Sci Fi, but if it's a magic portal then I would call it UF. Just my opinion though.

Polenth

Mushroom
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.polenthblake.com