AW Amazon Store

If this site is helpful to you,
Please consider a voluntary subscription to defray ongoing expenses.

paypal subscribe button

How To Support AW

Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

Thread: My Journey to self publishing success...

Threaded View

Twitter: @petedutcherjr PeteDutcher's Avatar

My Journey to self publishing success...

...no, I'm not successful yet. Consider this my journal though. PLEASE GIVE INPUT.

I'm creating this thread to keep track of my experimentation as a self-publishing eBook writer. As I try different things, I will note their results here. Somethings might work, most will probably not work.

My starting point... (experience)
    Basically at the bottom. I used to work in the comic book industry in the early 90s as a write, letterer and inker. In that time I made some firends in the industry, but haven't seen any of them in at least half a decade. I do talk with a couple through facebook (like George Perez and Angel Medina).

Other than that, I co-owned an online comic company years ago. We did not sell comics...we provided animated comics for free viewing on our website and averaged over 30k visitors per month...this was back around...1996? Maybe 95? My memory is very bad on that stuff now. We made money by selling 6 month spots of advertising within the comics...sometimes as part of a story even.

Cost to clients for 6 months was $4,000 and we made a bunch. This was before any other comic publishers did it. It was called CyberComix.com and we sold it after a year and the new owner went out of business later.

Now, as far as celebrity status, I will admit to being a geust at a few Orlando Meg Con conventions years ago...and the Cybercomix business had a special section there one year. It was also written about in newspapers (one of which I think is in my sig).