To tell or not to tell? That is the question...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Writer Girl

Registered
Reaction score
Hello fellow writers,

I greatly admire all of the good advice floating around this forum, and I'm hoping to get some from you guys. So here goes:

I am a published author with one book out, and one on the way. I want to write an e-book of quick lifestyle tips, using my pen name, my character's voice, and a few references to my first novel - without using its title. Am I under legal obligation to discuss this with my agent, or editor?

The reason I'm asking you guys instead of my agent is because we're not seeing eye to eye at the moment. Getting another agent is absolutely not an option. I'm indebted to my agent for fighting for the publication of my first book, and I'm with a very highly respected agency. However, I don't want to give my agent the chance to shoot down my spin-off idea. Since I plan to charge 1.99 for this ebook, I want to know if I'm under any contractual obligation to share my plans with agent, publisher, or both?

All advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks! :)

agentpaper

One of many
Registered
Reaction score
What does your contract say? If only that one book was contracted and there's no option or right of refusal clause, then it's probably okay. BUT, honestly I would talk to at least your agent. He/she is supposed to be the one you go to with these kind of things and if you can't talk to them, that's a pretty heavy sign that something is wrong.

Writer Girl

Registered
Reaction score
Thanks Agent paper,

Yup, something is wrong, but here's a couple of analogies:
1.why get divorced when we can cohabit peacefully?
2. It's tougher to get a job without having a job

Just to clarify, this ebook will be less than 20 pages, so does that still count as a book?

Soccer Mom

Crypto-fascist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Hello fellow writers,