Helicopter-fired missiles

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
I'm no expert on helicopters (I did do maintenance on armoured vehicles however) but I highly doubt there are sensors in the landing gear. The engine would have to be running or in the on position (similar to a car). Otherwise I can't think of any ill effects unless the target is close or there's something in the way of the backblast.

Royal Mercury

I think I am, therefore....
Registered
Reaction score
I don't know why it wouldn't be able to fire the missiles while landed.

The biggest danger would be hitting something too close, or perhaps getting a hang-fire condition, where the armed missile doesn't leave the launching tube and is live in the launcher and ready to explode.

KQ800

Registered
Reaction score
Cannot answer the first question, but also see no reason why it couldn't. I suppose it would be up to the crew to arm the weapons and fire them.

Effects: the minimum range of the Shturm is 600m in most versions which means that the warhead will not arm below that range, but if the body breaks up, from hitting a building etc, the remaining rocket fuel will ignite.

When the missile is first fired a booster charge will ignite to get it out of the tube and up to speed, after which the main motor will start. This booster charge sounds like a black powder cannon going off (or a really big fireworks launcher), and the flame and shockwave can kill anyone several meters behind the launch tube. I have no knowledge of the minimum safety distance of the shturm, but according to
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/library/policy/army/fm/44-43/Appj.htm and
http://www.globalsecurity.org/military/library/policy/army/fm/23-34/Appa.htm

the minimum safe distance for the TOW-missile is 75 meters in a 90 degree arc.