What would you do if you were a famous writer?

1000th Sun

Registered
Reaction score
Your newest work has just swept the English-speaking modernized world. The United States, Commonwealth, India, and Singapore are all in love with your writing ability. You have gotten 2 million United States Dollars so far and can see more coming along with a movie. (after all, 2 million is the new 1 million) So what would you do with that 2 million dollars?

(Note all of our responses will be different based off the stage of life we're in)

First off, a $500k thank you gift to my parents. Next, a $100k donation to the school I graduated from in 8th grade. That donation will be used for an award at graduation time where I choose the recipient based off his/her writing abilities of the '1000th Sun' Writing Award. (Replace 1000th Sun with my name). Now that $100k to be spread over years can last for generations so probably most of it ($75k) should go towards the school.

I'd probably put aside $400k for my education. I'd love to spread that out so I can go to school, get a 4 year degree then get a masters (or go up to doctorate if the field would give that). Then depending how how much I have left, go for another degree, hopefully a minimum of a 4-year but hey another graduate level degree would be cool.

Now since a minor can't own land I'd use my parents to own the $800k worth of land I'd buy since after all now is the time to buy. Then I'd rent out the land while keeping a good property to myself.

The rest of the $200k I'd donate tiny fractions of it away while keeping a lot of it on hand for my life now. (I won't lie about my greed ;) )

MissMacchiato

Bring on the Sweet, Sweet Coffee
Registered
Reaction score
I'd pay off my sister's mortgage and give her some extra money to play with, give some to my parents, then do a writing tour, smiling and waving to my adoring fans in all my favourite countries around the world.