Your most dreadful writerly sin

Status
Not open for further replies.

rebmacrath

Registered
Reaction score
(N.B.: I've asked the mods to move this to the AW Roundtable.)

Not to be confused with the thead "Funny literary mistakes". Nor are we looking for silly little venial sins like gift-wrapping a manuscript or phoning an agent like clockwork each week simply to see how s/he's doing or enclosing a vial of your own blood with your vampire novel. No, no, none of that. What we want are mortal sins in their full magnificence--sins you paid for dearly, perhaps, but sins of which you now can say: "The price was high but worth it, 'cause I'm a better writer now."

That said, I'll begin with a sin of mine that is flat-out notorious. It is the stuff of legends. Even now, years later, when agents go to summer camp to roast hot dogs and swap horror stories, they still recall the Rebster's sin. This is scary stuff. Be warned.

After my fourth book, when I'd just begun to start over, I took a wrong turn. I ended up in Hell Town, where I grew--somehow--convinced that, as an award-winning author who had been optioned for film...and as a former journalist who'd had a nationally syndicated column...I say, I grew convinced somehow because of these and other things that I no longer needed to proofread as intensely as anyone else. Don't get me wrong, I proofread. But I no longer went through each page 50 times--frontwards, backwards, upside down, etc.