What are the Unwritten Rules of Romance Writing?

ThetProf

To write or not to write. . .
Registered
Reaction score
I was reading the "Tell me there's more to romance writing than formulas and Harlequin" thread and someone mentioned that the only "formula" was it had to have a HEA and a story about the relationship at the heart of the book. Are there other unwritten rules? (If there are written ones somewhere how do I get a copy?:)) I'm new to the game and though I've read a lot of romances, I of course tend to read authors I like so there's a lot out there I don't read. For instance, I don't read contemporary or paranormal (Twilight series I do confess to). But from my reading I have ideas about what is allowed and not allowed, just not sure how unconventional you can be in the changing market. Any help with this is greatly appreciated.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
The 'rules' are to write what the publisher thinks their readers want to buy. IMHO that's all there is to it.

Stacia Kane

Girl Detective
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.staciakane.com
I do think there's a LOT of leeway, yes. But I do also believe that there are some things that some romance readers simply aren't going to accept, or things that more readers will than won't, thus giving you a better chance at success. Frex, the heroine doesn't have to be a virgin but she shouldn't be a slut. She doesn't have to be a healer who loves puppies but she shouldn't be selfish or self-centered and she should like children. She shouldn't think nasty thoughts about other people unless they're horribly nasty first. There are quite a few of these if you check some of the romance blogs etc.