Another newbie here

roostercharmer

Registered
Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to this forum and a bit intimidated. But I'll get over it, I'm sure. :) I've got me a finished manuscript and need some feedback and I've already had someone offer to read a few chapters of my book. Yay!

And I already have a question: What forum would be the most appropriate to ask a question about queries (ie, how much of the novel should I reveal in the synopsis)?

Thanks!

Last edited:

brainstorm77

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome to the cooler.

AmbitiousJ

I'm Blessed to be a Blessing!
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome love,
I'm a newbie too. So Yay, I don't feel like I'm the only one. Don't be a stranger.

"Every hard time has an expiration date"

alleycat

Still around
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
And I already have a question: What forum would be the most appropriate to ask a question about queries (ie, how much of the novel should I reveal in the synopsis)?
Welcome.

This is a separate section in Share Your Work for queries (which we've fondly named Query Hell). You might read the stickies there and see if your question is answered. If you still need to ask a question, you can post it in Novels. I would try to answer your question here just to get you started, but queries are an art into themselves and a short, quick answer probably wouldn't help you that much. You also need to read a new agent's blogs and see what they're looking for in a query (some of them actually have examples of queries that worked for them); they is some difference of opinion about what works and what doesn't in a query. Again, it's more art than science.

CACTUSWENDY

An old, sappy, and happy one.
Kind Benefactor
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome to AW. Hope you enjoy your stay with us.
How do you like your popcorn?