Adobe Story - Game Changer?

Limex

Registered
Reaction score
What's everyone think about the upcoming Adobe Story screenwriting software?

You can try it out for free HERE

Personally, I think it has the potential to battle Final Draft as the industry standard. I tried it out and it's pretty darn easy on the eyes, functional, and pretty awesome that it is easy as 1-2-3 to collaborate and work online. Making it able to work on your scripts virtually anywhere there's internet.

Also, support for AV scripts (two-column), is nice to have under one roof.

Interesting.

sufcboy

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to script writing and I'm working on a website for people to use as tool. What would you say are the must haves of a script writing software?

Limex

Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to script writing and I'm working on a website for people to use as tool. What would you say are the must haves of a script writing software?

I'd suggest stopping right now, Adobe beat you to it. And I'm sure other companies are already working on it as well.

Miss Plum

Sockpuppet
Banned
Reaction score
If your tool's gonna be free and you'll get revenue from ads, you'll have a chance against Adobe Story and Final Draft. Disclaimer: I'm a Word guru and I've never used either of these. I'd suggest you download a trial copy of Final Draft and note its marketing page and see which features they brag about.

But here are a few must-haves for screenwriters:

E-Z FORMATTING. All the weird indenting, capitalization, spacing, page-break etiquette, font requirements, underlining, indicating foreign language, off-camera conversation, phone conversation, etc. is sacred code among those who write and more importantly READ scripts, so the easier and more automated and foolproof it is for the writer, the better.

CHARACTER LISTS. The character's name must appear over every line of dialogue they utter. It would be nice to be able to insert them at a mouse click.