"Previously published"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shuvcat

Registered
Reaction score
I'm sure I'm posting in the wrong place-- if so please redirect me.

I have a story that I currently have posted on my non-profit website. I have decided to take the plunge and edit it to submit to a publisher. My question is, should I take it off the internet completely before I even try to submit it to anyone? At least one publisher I've looked at say they won't accept anything that's been "previously published." Is posting it online technically "publishing" it?

As an aside: What about dedication pages (i.e.; “Dedicated to my inspiring three cats, Jim, Bob and Joe”)? Are you allowed to submit them along with the manuscript? Or should you hold off on those until they actually accept it?

Forgive my ignorance... I'm a noob for a reason. Thanks very much in advance.
Melanie

Cyia

Rewriting My Destiny
Registered
Reaction score
Look at it from a publisher's POV. Why would they want to pay you for something if people can read it online for free?

suki

Opinionated
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Shuvcat, Welcome to AW.

I'm not really sure how to answer your first question, as you haven't given enough details. So, let me answer the second first - no, you do not send dedication pages, acknowledgments, etc, with your manuscript. That comes only after a publisher has bought your manuscript and you are getting the finalized draft ready for publication.

As for the first question, you say it's a story you are getting ready to edit and send out to publishers...Is it a novel-length manuscript? A short story? Something else?