Can I vent?

kaitie

With great power comes
Registered
Reaction score
I'd put this in the dejection section, but it's not writing related so I figured it doesn't really count. Here's the thing: apparently my Japanese sucks. :(

I've been studying for seven years, been living in Japan for three and a half, and when I say studying I'm not talking about the occasionally pick up a book kind of studying. I'm talking about until the last couple of months (when I prioritized my novel editing over studying), I studied for a minimum of an hour or two a day. I studied vocab lists, worked through grammar books, made flashcards. I read novels, have taken courses when available, etc. Heck, I've even got kanji games on my DS! All because I got it in my head a few years back that I'd like to translate novels.

So this handy-dandy course comes around this year, a translation and interpretation course. Now, I should mention that while I think I can read pretty well, my speaking and listening is really weak by comparison. I am an incredibly visual person, and I have an incredibly difficult time focusing and learning when it comes to speaking and listening. While I can have conversations, my speaking is very casual and based on conversations I have and how people talk to me--not what I learn in books. I decided to take the course hoping that I'd learn about translation and maybe even get some kind of qualification that could help me get into the business (no idea how that even works, btw).

Well, the books proved to be really useless early on. The practice they offer is accomplished just as easily by reading a newspaper, the grammar points made are all very basic compared to the level we're supposed to be at, and there is no practice of the grammar points, etc. that they make. It's just not a very well constructed book, and the texts I was using to study independently were a lot better.