Reading Your Own Stuff

Status
Not open for further replies.

dgiharris

Disgruntled Scientist
Registered
Reaction score
So,

I'm by no means a pro, just a few pubs here and there. The latest one just came out by a magazine/periodical called the Card Room.

Anyways, so they mail me a courtesy copy and I immediately turn to my articles and I just can't stop reading them.

Which has got to be the silliest damn thing considering I'm the one who wrote it.

I must have read the damn thing 20 times over the course of the past week.

Is this just me?

And is this more of a 'newbie' thing. Are you seasoned veterans immune from this narcassistic tendency?

Mel...

Bubastes

bananaed
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.gracewen.com
I'm the opposite: I can't stand reading stuff I've published because I see things I want to change even though it's too late to fix them.

DeleyanLee

Writing Anarchist
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I read over anything to make certain nothing got changed, honestly. I once had an article accepted but the one published (under my by-line) had a completely different last third, which came to a completely different conclusion than the one I'd been aiming for (and one I vehemently opposed). A few heated calls to the editor later, I got a verbal apology but nothing ever in print. For several years, while I was still in that line of work, I got backlash from that article. At least, having read it, I knew why and was ready for it.

Yeah, I read it when it first comes to my hands. Then I read it again, just to be certain of what I read the first time. And then maybe again, 'cause the third time's the charm. Then if it's not butchered, I'll read it as a reader at least once or twice, just 'cause.

Fortunately, I've never had the same situation I did above, but I don't think it's weird to read your own stuff multiple times. I think it's good mojo. ;)

stormie

storm central
Registered
Reaction score