Status
Not open for further replies.

Smish

Reads more than she writes.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
How do you prepare for it?

I'm a lawyer, so I'm no stranger to exams. However, I have no clue about the GRE or the best way to prepare for it. If I'm going to give up my career to go back to school, it has to be for a very good program, so I'm aiming for a minimum score of 1400.

Any advice would be appreciated!

:)Smish

Deleted member 42

Plan on taking it at least twice, at least three months apart; six is better, a year best of all.

Buy either the exam prep books, or the software, and use them, regularly.

Study the information about how the exam is scored, so you know when to skip a question and when to make an educated guess.

Find out if you have to take a subject exam; depending on the degree, you may have to.

Smish

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Plan on taking it at least twice, at least three months apart; six is better, a year best of all.

Buy either the exam prep books, or the software, and use them, regularly.

Study the information about how the exam is scored, so you know when to skip a question and when to make an educated guess.

Find out if you have to take a subject exam; depending on the degree, you may have to.

Thanks for the advice! I hope I only have to take it once, though, because the deadlines for the programs I want to apply for are mid-December to mid-January. If you do take it more than once, does the second score replace the first, or are the two averaged?

Good info about being able to skip questions -- I didn't realize that was a technique.

Deleted member 42

Thanks for the advice! I hope I only have to take it once, though, because the deadlines for the programs I want to apply for are mid-December to mid-January. If you do take it more than once, does the second score replace the first, or are the two averaged?

Good info about being able to skip questions -- I didn't realize that was a technique.