seeking advice for Plan B

Status
Not open for further replies.

thescribe1313

Registered
Reaction score
I've never ever done anything like this before, but I thought maybe someone out there could help me. I write what I think and hope may be literary novels. I submitted my fourth to 77 agents a few months ago. I've received 11 manuscript requests. This has never happened to me before, so it feels (felt) great. Now, though, I have received 8 rejections from those 11 agents. Some offered compliments and explanations for why they passed. I am running out of chances and hope. I do not want to give up, though, because I really believe this novel is publishable. I think I'm going to need a Plan B. I have no spiffy connections. I'm just a very hard-working writer who really wants to be published. Any ideas for how I might approach this? What could my Plan B entail?

stormie

storm central
Registered
Reaction score
Still three blocks from the Atlantic Ocean
Website
www.anneskal.wordpress.com
Welcome to AW!

First, you don't need spiffy connections in order to be published. What you need is a great manuscript. Take those compliments and explanations that your were given from the fulls and rework your ms. BUT you need a new list of agents to submit this ms. to. (That may be a hard thing to do since you already queried 77 of them.)

Second, you could send a query to publishers where you don't need agent representation.

Third, you could put that ms. away and write another, even better, novel.

ETA: One of the mods might want to move this out of the Bewares and Background Check forum and into a more appropriate one where you'll get more responses and help.

Last edited:

waylander

Who's going for a beer?
Registered
Reaction score
Plan B involves going to some writing conferences, meeting some editors, pressing the flesh and soliciting submissions to them

CaoPaux

Mostly Harmless
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score