payitforward

Muppet Girl
Registered
Reaction score
Website
nancyhigh.wordpress.com
Hey All:

Not sure if this is in the right place, but here goes:

I am making business cards to hand out whenever I go to conferences and such. What kinds of info should I put on there?

My first novel is represented by a great agent, but do I put any of that info on the card?

Thoughts?

ChaosTitan

Around
Registered
Reaction score
Website
kellymeding.com
My business cards have the most basic info: My name and genre, my email address and website addy. It didn't occur to me to put my agent's name on the card, but that's probably not a bad idea depending on how you use the cards to network. Don't make the card too flashy, but make sure it the important contact info.

Mayntz

Registered
Reaction score
My business cards have name, contact info, website, and a short list of what I write (Newspapers, Websites, Magazines, etc.) since I'm a freelancer rather than a novelist. Be sure you have good white space for a crisp presentation, as well.

I would really hesitate to put an agent's name on the card, however. If I were another agent and saw that, I'd assume you were "taken" and not interested in connected with me. Furthermore, you may very well have conflicts with that agent down the road so you're no longer associated with them, making your business cards inaccurate. Just my two cents.

Kryianna

Registered
Reaction score
I'd also pay for professional cards. A card that looks/feels cheap is not going to be as professional as a card on good cardstock with high quality graphics/text.

And for heaven's sake, don't get the free ones online that have "free business cards from xxx.com" printed on the back.

This is your career and business. Show the people you're giving the cards to that you're taking it seriously. The fifty bucks it costs to have them printed well is worth every penny.

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com