• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

Short Story to Novel

Status
Not open for further replies.

-B-

Registered
Reaction score
I've been trying to write a novel for some time, but for some reason I can never seem to get more than 40 to 50,000 words, many times less sometimes more, per story no matter how many rewrites I attempt. I sit down to work on one of these stories and I've always had the attitude that I will write until the story is told. Am I doing something wrong here or just being lazy?

Linda Adams

Soldier, Storyteller
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.linda-adams.com
I was a short story writer for many, many years, and it was extremely difficult learning how to write a novel. Though they're both fiction, the skillsets are quite different. A short story tends to have a simple story and only a few characters; a novel will be more complex, have subplots running through it, and may have a huge cast. My first book ran only 25K before fizzling out, though I thought I had enough material. It took a lot of work to finish a 90K book, and even then, I ran 60 pages short and had to add to bring it up. I expect the same thing to happen on my WIP, though I hope I've improved.

Anyway, this is what I learned on my travels:

A novel is not a long short story. I approached it that way, and I think it's one of the reasons the first book ran short. It didn't have enough of a story developed to sustain a 350-page book.

Individual chapters are not short stories. After treating it like a long short story didn't work, I tried this. Again, it wasn't getting out of the mindset of writing short.