Marketing secrets from the vault- Booksigning Insanity

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hapsburg

I tend to guard my marketing secrets pretty well, but this site has been such a useful resource for me I thought I'd open up and share some of my tactics that I use in my writing that I gained from my day job. By day I'm a Realtor, and we do more than just the legal paperwork. On average, we can sell a house for 27% more than an owner can (NAR 2002). The reason is marketing. Applying some of these tricks to writing has helped me, and may help you. Though I've written this in steps, you really should be doing these things simultaneously. Here are some of my evil schemes:

So you have a book published...

You need to get the sales and attract the buyers. Signings are fine and dandy, but I do most of them methodically.

An effective book signing isn't a book signing, it's a campaign. It is a series of booksignings within an area, accompanied by lectures, press releases, radio interviews and local interest group involvement. Here's how to pull it off:

Phase 1 Getting your voice heard

First, let them know you're available. Advertise your book in "Radio-TV Interview Report" published by Bradley Communications Corp. 135 East Plumstead Ave. Lansdown PA 19050 (215) 259-1070. The circulation, last I checked, was about 4500, and it is a mag for radio, review, and TV people that is used to locate interesting guests for upcoming projects. Also call local public radio stations and pitch for an interview, find out who makes the decision, stop by the station, give them a free copy, be professional casual and confident, and try to get on the air. Leave a flyer with interesting info about you and your publication. Having a book signing approaching can help.

Phase 2 The Press