• Basic Writing questions is not a crit forum. All crits belong in Share Your Work

show don't tell

Status
Not open for further replies.

didi768

Registered
Reaction score
Okay, I am terrible at doing this and am always told I "tell." How can I stop doing this???

czjaba

dreaming of the day...
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not an expert, but here's my opinion.

She drove the car recklessly. [Puts all kinds of ideas in a reader's mind. What might mean reckless to me may not necessarily mean the same to you.]

She slammed the car into reverse, without looking back, and floored the accelerator. [This is describing exactly what happened and paints a clear picture for the reader.]

Mr Sci Fi

Street Samurai
Registered
Reaction score
Telling: "She was scared."
Showing: "Her heart sank."

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I've answered this often at another writing forum I visit. Let me go find a recent time and copy-and-paste... [sound of receding footsteps]

TELLING VERSUS SHOWING

This is a favorite theme for English teachers to harp on, but not very many of them can really make student writers understand the difference. Technically, there’s nothing wrong with just stating the facts.

Usually Maggie was one of the first ones to leave, but today she was late because she was having trouble pinning her shirt where the button had popped off. The girls didn’t notice that she was still getting dressed when they left the locker room, talking. She heard Jodie Brennan say that Maggie should be cut from the volleyball team because she couldn’t jump high enough to touch the top of the net. Since she hadn’t had a choice about being short, it hurt her feelings. (86 words)

OK, we know what’s going on—but do we care? Do we like or dislike Maggie, or Jodie? If you’re writing fiction, you have to make the readers feel something about the characters you create. You do that by showing what’s significant.