Twitter etiquette question

KiwiChick

Editing like a caffeinated chipmunk
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.asakkalon.com
I'm new to Twitter, and I'm trying to learn my way around without offending anyone too much or doing anything excessively inappropriate. Can anyone tell me the proper response when someone retweets me? I sometimes get messages thanking me when I retweet other people. Is that a polite thing to do? Is there something else I should do?

Thanks for your advice.

KiwiChick

cmhbob

Did...did I do that?
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.bobmuellerwriter.com
I usually will thank people with big networks who RT me, like someone with over 5k followers, because that's a huge boost for me.

I also tend to follow people who RT me, since there's some sort of connection there, in that they liked what you posted. Chances are you'll get a followback out of that.

Earthling

I come in peace
Registered
Reaction score
I dislike those "thanks for the RTs!" Tweets, and I don't do them. I follow people who RT me (unless they're obviously spammy accounts) and look through their Tweets to find something of theirs to RT.

There's no fixed etiquette on this, so do whatever you feel comfortable with.

randi.lee

Certified Non-Genius
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.rlwrites.com
Hiya Kiwi! "Etiquette" on Twitter is synonymous to the individual in question. AKA, it changes by the person. As Earthling mentioned, some people don't like the "Thanks for the RT!!!" tweets, while others seem to appreciate them. I, for one, am with Earthling. I think the clutter up my Twitter feed and they're super annoying. You could always "like" the retweet, acknowledging to the retweeter that you saw their effort and appreciate it without cluttering the feed. That's a nice alternative :)

Ravioli

Crazy Cat Lady
Registered
Reaction score
Website
annagiladi.wixsite.com
Depends on the size of your following and what is retweeted, I say.