A unique, endearing thread title that somehow grabs your attention without irritating you

LucasHuntington

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

My (forum) name is Lucas, and I'm a 24-year-old PhD student in literature who, lately, is questioning more and more his desire to finish a PhD program. I'll be entering year 3 of my program in the fall (out of 5 or 6, depending on how fast I finish), and the gulf between creative writing and academic literary "criticism" is proving to be wider than I hoped it to be.

I've been writing stories ever since I could write, although I guess I only knew for sure I wanted to be "a writer" in 9th or 10th grade. My goal is to write novels, although I've started a few--some realistic fiction, some more speculative/sci-fi--only to lose enthusiasm at the 30 or 40 page mark. My most recent novel attempt, a speculative fiction romance started at the beginning of this year, is my most promising one yet, I think, but I am putting the 40-45 pages I have away for a while to focus on writing a few short stories. I shared what I had in a graduate fiction writing workshop this spring, and feedback was mostly positive, but there were some consistent concerns about the narrator's voice that led me to think I should just rewrite everything at some point in the (hopefully near) future. A lot of my work, including the novel-in-interrupted-progress, focuses on animals and their potential to communicate their stories to us. I haven't published any of my short stories yet, mostly because I've found the rewriting process to be really daunting and exhausting. I'm definitely getting better at it, though, and I think joining a group like this forum will encourage me to have more discipline.