The 'Novel Series' Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.

E.G. Gammon

Registered
Reaction score
I thought it would be a good idea to start a topic on writing a novel series since I am writing one and a couple other writers here are, too. Use this topic to discuss the "rules," post any tips you can give (as a writer, reader or both), or talk about your own novel series (or others already published - granted you post in a way that provides some insight on the writing of a novel series).

I'll jump into the discussion after others start posting because let's face it - my novel series is probably the only thing I EVER talk about on these boards. You're probably sick to death of hearing about it...

RosettaStone

Interesting Thread!

The best advice (if you’re willing to take it from a complete newbie) I can give right now is to know your world and characters inside and out. At the moment, I’m plotting out two different (historical time travel with magical characters and the lives of various characters who all have one thing in common…I’m working on the former more than the latter).

The characters split up and go on different adventures in different books. I thought I’d just have to work with the characters who’d be playing a big role in book one…that’s not the case. Even though the characters have split up into different groups, they’re still entwined in a way (especially if they're involved romantically and are debating remaing faithful)...

dragonjax

I write stuff and break boards.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jackiekessler.com
I think 180,000 words is a lot to ask of a reader (let alone a publisher). If you can't get it down to something under 120,000 words, you may have to pitch the story as a two-volume book.

What genre is your WIP?

dragonjax

I write stuff and break boards.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jackiekessler.com
RosettaStone said: