"Women's Fiction Novel" Acceptable to say or Redundant?

editing_for_authors
Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

Status
Not open for further replies.

allz28

No Stranger To Rejection
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Sep 30, 2010
Messages
212
Reaction score
27
Location
Little Rock, AR
I'm wondering what the general consensus is regarding the phrase "Women's Fiction Novel."

I, of course, in general hate it when someone refers to something as a fiction novel, but this may be the one exception to the rule.

So, in query letters or just general conversation, do you think it's OK to refer to your book as a Women's Fiction Novel?
 

AW Admin

Herder of Hamsters
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
18,291
Reaction score
5,262
Location
On the Server
I'm wondering what the general consensus is regarding the phrase "Women's Fiction Novel."

I, of course, in general hate it when someone refers to something as a fiction novel, but this may be the one exception to the rule.

So, in query letters or just general conversation, do you think it's OK to refer to your book as a Women's Fiction Novel?

No; it's amateurish. It's a novel. It may be chick lit, it may be a "women's novel" (personally not fond of that phrase either) but leave off the "fiction novel."
 
Last edited:

allz28

No Stranger To Rejection
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Sep 30, 2010
Messages
212
Reaction score
27
Location
Little Rock, AR
But Women's Fiction is a genre. So if you were to say, "City of Girls is a . . . " most people would finish that sentence "City of Girls is a women's fiction novel."

Of course there are ways to rephrase, but that's what I'm referring to. I see, hear, and read the phrase "women's fiction novel" a lot.
 

Woollybear

Super Member
Registered
Joined
Nov 27, 2017
Messages
5,151
Reaction score
1,473
Location
USA
I don't talk about reading science fiction novels. I talk about reading science fiction.

I don't think the word novel appears in my query. I'd say:

"At 97,000 words, THE ONE WITH THE ANSWERS is women's fiction that will appeal to fans of X and Y."
 

mccardey

wear a mask
Kind Benefactor
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
15,110
Reaction score
6,797
Location
Australia.
I'm wondering what the general consensus is regarding the phrase "Women's Fiction Novel."

I, of course, in general hate it when someone refers to something as a fiction novel, but this may be the one exception to the rule.

So, in query letters or just general conversation, do you think it's OK to refer to your book as a Women's Fiction Novel?
Not in query letters. I guess you can say it in general conversation if you want to. I think most people would say women's fiction, if that's a category.
 

Ari Meermans

MacAllister's Official Minion & Greeter
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Jan 24, 2011
Messages
12,814
Reaction score
2,918
Location
Not where you last saw me.
Using the words fiction and novel together is redundant and, AW Admin is right, amateurish. A novel is a book-length work of prose with fictional characters, fictional events, and sometimes even a fictional setting. If it's a novel, it's fiction.

Not in query letters. I guess you can say it in general conversation if you want to. I think most people would say women's fiction, if that's a category.

Yep. Women's Fiction is indeed a marketing category and that description is both standard and sufficient.
 
Last edited:

Barbara R.

Old Hand in the Biz
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
1,963
Reaction score
240
Location
New York
Website
www.barbararogan.com
But Women's Fiction is a genre. So if you were to say, "City of Girls is a . . . " most people would finish that sentence "City of Girls is a women's fiction novel."

Of course there are ways to rephrase, but that's what I'm referring to. I see, hear, and read the phrase "women's fiction novel" a lot.

Not anyone who works in publishing. All novels are fiction, so saying a "fiction novel" is redundant and amateurish. You just dodged a bullet!
 

Lakey

professional dilettante
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
1,496
Reaction score
795
Location
New England
But Women's Fiction is a genre. So if you were to say, "City of Girls is a . . . " most people would finish that sentence "City of Girls is a women's fiction novel."
I would say "City of Girls is women's fiction." If it were necessary to also specify that's it a novel (as opposed to, I don't know, a collection of short stories) I might write "The novel City of Girls is women's fiction" or "City of Girls, a novel, is women's fiction" or any number of other ways to rephrase -- but that seems like a rare case. Most times, "City of Girls is women's fiction" would suffice, I imagine.

Of course there are ways to rephrase, but that's what I'm referring to. I see, hear, and read the phrase "women's fiction novel" a lot.

If anyone uses this phrase in writing at all, they should probably hyphenate: "women's-fiction novel". But it is redundant and awkward, and I don't think a competent, non-overworked editor would let it stand. If you see it frequently, I would wager that it is in informal settings (like forum posts) or in work that isn't carefully edited -- which category contains the vast majority of content on the internet, unfortunately.

:e2coffee:
 

mccardey

wear a mask
Kind Benefactor
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Feb 10, 2010
Messages
15,110
Reaction score
6,797
Location
Australia.
Yep. Women's Fiction is indeed a marketing category and that description is both standard and sufficient.
I thought it was. It just sounded odd when I focused on it. I confused me. I do that sometimes.
 

AW Admin

Herder of Hamsters
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
18,291
Reaction score
5,262
Location
On the Server
I thought it was. It just sounded odd when I focused on it. I confused me. I do that sometimes.

It's still used, but less often than it was used say five years ago, based on looking at LOC metadata.

Not sure why that is.
 

cool pop

It's Cool, Miss Pop if You're Nasty
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Oct 20, 2009
Messages
660
Reaction score
126
Location
Texas
A novel is fiction so no need to say "novel". :e2file:
 

PiaSophia

mysterious
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Jun 8, 2019
Messages
630
Reaction score
25
Location
Netherlands
A little off-topic maybe, but I really dislike the "women" part of it. It's stupid. And what is "men fiction", then? Jeez.
 

lilyWhite

Love and Excitement
Super Member
Registered
Joined
Aug 13, 2012
Messages
5,357
Reaction score
762
Location
under a pile of mistletoe
A little off-topic maybe, but I really dislike the "women" part of it. It's stupid. And what is "men fiction", then? Jeez.

From the Wikipedia:

The Romance Writers of America organization defines women's fiction as, "a commercial novel about a woman on the brink of life change and personal growth. Her journey details emotional reflection and action that transforms her and her relationships with others, and includes a hopeful/upbeat ending with regard to her romantic relationship."

...

*wonders if there's a market for contemporary-fantasy women's fiction*
 
Last edited:

Elle.

Super Member
Registered
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Messages
1,063
Reaction score
349
Location
United Kingdom
Quote: "The Romance Writers of America organization defines women's fiction as, "a commercial novel about a woman on the brink of life change and personal growth. Her journey details emotional reflection and action that transforms her and her relationships with others, and includes a hopeful/upbeat ending with regard to her romantic relationship."

When women write this is it is Women's fiction, when a male author write this then it is a profound study of our humanity or of our time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

A large christmas tree with lights outdoors in the snow, with a snowman, houses, and children