Website for promoting your book

editing_for_authors
Editing for authors: because every writer needs a good editor.

Sonia Preston

Registered
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am relatively new to being an author and the publishing industry. I understand that authors need a website to promote their book, if they participated in an radio interview, trailers etc.
My last publisher created an awesome website, which I loved. I haven't been able to contact them for months and the website has been taken down.

Is it better to have your own website as opposed to a publisher creating one? If it's your own website you have control and it cannot be taken down.

What's a reasonable price to pay for a website?

Thank you Sonia

Izz

Doing the Space Operatic
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.justgoodfiction.com
Hi Sonia :)

The Newbies subforum is a place for new members to introduce themselves to the community. Unfortunately, it isn't the right place for a question like this. I'm going to port your thread across to the Book Promotion Ideas and Advice subforum within the Publishing set of rooms. You'll likely get better responses there.

AW is a large place and it can be overwhelming at first as you try to find your way around but if you take your time exploring you'll get comfortable soon enough. Also, if you haven't already done so, please read the Newbies Guide you were linked to when you registered, as well as the stickied/pinned threads at the top of each forum page. These will help you get to know AW much faster than otherwise. In particular, please read the stickies in the FAQ room and the Tech Help room.

Okay, hold onto your hat because we're going on a little ride :)

ChaseJxyz

Writes πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆπŸ¦… and πŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆπŸ¦… accessories
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.chasej.xyz